The Gift of Nishaan Magazine: Sikh Warriors in the Great War

A few years ago I was invited to a speaking engagement in Egypt. During my visit, my hosts took me to the great museums in Cairo and other cities – and I was amazed to find portraits of Sikh warriors exhibited there.  

I also visited a World War II cemetery in Egypt where over a hundred graves had head stones commemorating Sikh soldiers. Their full names were inscribed on the stones along with the names of Punjab villages where they were born. This was a pleasant surprise to me. I knew of Sikh regiments fighting wars in Europe and Japan, but I was not aware of their sacrifices to protect populations in Africa. I am pleased that it is the subject of recent issue of the magazine I am gifting for your reading.
 
This is the second time that I am promoting the Sikh Quarterly Journal NISHAAN Nagara. This issue is devoted to Sikh warriors in world armies including the American Army, the Pakistan Army, and many others. I am sure you will like this issue as much as the previous one on Dr. Jaswant Singh Neki.
 
Hopefully some of you will subscribe. I’d like to let you know that there was a good response to the prior issue I circulated a couple of months ago. I hope to hear from you with similar complements this time. Please feel free to forward this email to your friends.

Download the full magazine.

NISHAAN_Sikhs_Wars_ II 2015

This link will open a PDF file.


Send all communications to the author:

Harbans Lal, PhD; D.Litt (hons)

Emeritus Professor and Chairman, Dept of Pharmacology & Neuroscience, University of North Texas Health Science Center.
Emeritus, Guru Nanak Dev University, Amritsar, India.
President, Academy of Guru Granth Studies.

web:     https://seekingwisdomblog.wordpress.com
email:   Japji2050@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

